Cruise Control

I recently drove from New York to Chicago, about 850 miles, and I’d say at least 95% of the way I was using cruise control to maintain my desired speed.

For instance if the speed limit was 65 mph, I would set the cruise control for about 70 mph. This way I wasn’t excessively speeding or being reckless but I could also possibly shave a few minutes off of this long journey.

This is what I noticed:

I’ll be “cruising” in the right lane and I’d notice that I would be catching up to someone driving ahead of me in the same lane, so I would put my left signal on to go around them (in the left passing lane) and eventually get in front of them by returning to the right lane again, because they were obviously going slower than I was. This is normal, all well and good and to be expected right? But then at some point down the road, whether it be minutes or miles later, all of a sudden that same person is catching up to me. They then go to the left lane and pass me and then move in front of me in the right lane.

But now what happens is baffling.

At some point down the road, further along in my journey, I eventually catch back up to them and pass them again. This might not be too startling but remember, I have been on cruise control the entire time, no fluctuation in my speed whatsoever. Even when I pass someone, I let the car do the work, I do not accelerate even 1 mph.

So what are they doing?  They are speeding up, slowing down, speeding up, slowing down, and are totally inconsistent in their behavior. Now, their driving has nothing to do with me or my trip, but their actions have a lot to do with success.

We’ve all seen people have bursts of energy or bursts of accomplishments, and then they let up and that causes them to stumble or fail.  Then, maybe when the pressure is on, they speed up again, then over time, they get comfortable and slow down again. Basically they are inconsistent in their actions and therefore inconsistent in their results.

We all have the same amount of time (Time in a Bottle) but it’s not only what you do with it that matters, but also how you do it. Robert Service said it this way:

“It’s the steady, quiet, plodding ones who win in the lifelong race.”

Just like the tortoise and the hare, we’ve been taught this example over and over again, yet so many of us either ignore it or simply forget it.

We want immediate results with minimal effort, thinking there’s a quick fix, but there isn’t. And haven’t we learned that over and over again also, that there’s no quick route to success? No, it takes time and work, consistent action, to achieve significant goals.

Set your goal and map out the steps necessary to get there. Then, methodically and consistently take those necessary steps, every day.

This will ensure that you arrive at your destination successfully.

Rob Liano
Rock Star Life Coach & Sales Trainer
www.rockstarsalestraining.com
1.855.832.ROCK (7625)

 © Rob Liano and Rock Star Success Coaching, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rob Liano and Rock Star Success Coaching with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Rob Liano

The Rock Star Success Coach & Sales Trainer, Rob Liano is a best selling author and a Certified Life Coach empowering others through Personal Development & Professional Achievement!
This entry was posted in Sales Training, Success Coaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cruise Control

  1. Fred says:

    Very well said, Rob. Great analogy.

  2. Ken says:

    Nicely put. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Let Me Stand Next to Your Fire (Fueling your Passion) | To book Rob Liano for your next event please 
call 1.888.379.8315

  4. Pingback: I Saw the Signs | To book Rob Liano for your next event please 
call 1.888.379.8315

Leave a Reply

