The School Bus

What if you could partner with the most successful people in the world so that you could tap into the information they possess, get their advice on success and have them guide you, step by step towards a better life?

I had the opportunity to speak at an event for the National Funding Alliance that took place in Atlanta. I was invited thanks to my associate Sean Nelson, who by the way, is a master at helping others integrate social media into a comprehensive marketing strategy, I highly recommend his blog, check it out here.

Since I love a good road trip, I committed to driving there. I also decided to turn my SUV into a “school” bus.  Not like the soccer moms do, but a different kind of school bus.

Now, even though there are interesting sites and distractions along the way, like this one in South Carolina:

I know, why a peach there and not in Georgia? No idea.

And this one in Virginia, called Foamhenge, which was wicked cool.  Yes, it’s Stonehenge recreated entirely out of foam.

Even with these pleasant surprises I still had a lot of time to utilize, over 13 hours each way. What did I do with all of that time?

I drove myself to school.

I listened to several audio CD programs, all geared towards self-improvement or success.  Instead of listening to talk radio, or (bad) news being constantly pummeled into my head, I decided to increase my knowledge instead.  Even if I only got one idea, or heard one concept that could give me an “a ha” moment, isn’t it worth it?  Well, it was much more than one idea, it was many. Think about how much we could learn and grow if we did this on a daily basis.

What is the school bus?  A vehicle for learning.

While the school bus concept is nothing new or particularly ground breaking, the act of implementing this concept can be ground breaking for you.

Do you drive to work?  Do you drive anywhere?  Do you work out? Well, how about you purchase a success oriented audio program and pop it into your car or your MP3 player during that time and learn? The more you learn, the more you’ll grow, the more you grow, the more you’ll improve, the more you improve, well, you get the point.

I’m sure you’re aware that in an effort to increase the impact of their sales force or business, many large companies hire trainers, success coaches and best selling authors to speak “live” to teach their employees. That type of training often comes with a significant price tag, and while it’s well worth the investment, if you’re an independent salesperson or you own a small a start up business, you may not have that type of funding available or the amount of employees to justify hiring a live speaker.

How about one on one lessons?

Even if you’re just someone who wants to improve themselves, business related or not, by purchasing an audio program from the likes of Earl Nightingale, Brian Tracy, Maxwell Maultz or even myself, it’s like having motivational teachers show up whenever you want them to, and usually for less than the monthly cost of your cafe lattes!

I want to make sure that you understand that I’m not recommending cutting out your favorite radio station or music that moves or inspires you, I’m suggesting that you decide where you can schedule some time to learn from others who have already forged a path to success.

I’ll even go so far as to say that I think it’s even better to get an audio program rather than attend a live event, because you won’t retain all or even most of the information after hearing it for the first time, and especially if it’s the only time you ever hear it. You need to review it again and again, so that it gets ingrained in your brain.  This is where an audio program has the edge, and so will you after committing the time to lather, rinse, and repeat.

If you would like me to recommend the audio programs I believe offer great value, please feel free to comment below or email me, I’d love to start you off in the right direction.

And remember, you’re in the drivers seat!

Rob Liano
Rock Star Life Coach & Sales Trainer
www.rockstarsalestraining.com
1.855.832.ROCK (7625)

 © Rob Liano and Rock Star Success Coaching, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rob Liano and Rock Star Success Coaching with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Rob Liano

The Rock Star Success Coach & Sales Trainer, Rob Liano is a best selling author and a Certified Life Coach empowering others through Personal Development & Professional Achievement!
This entry was posted in Sales Training, Success Coaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The School Bus

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I love my University on Wheels! Favorite audiobook this week, The Slight Edge. It’s a great, inspirational and motivational listen!

    • robliano says:

      I agree, Jeff Olsen offers brilliant insight, so simple and effective but that may also be why most people don’t take the advice lol, thanks Chris, good to hear from you!

  2. Pingback: Go Towards the Light (wait, not like that) | To book Rob Liano for your next event please 
call 1.888.379.8315

  3. Pingback: One Small Step, One Giant Success Tip | Rob Liano – The Rock Star Success Coach

  4. Pingback: The Bricklayer – 5 Steps to Building Success | Rob Liano – The Rock Star Success Coach

Leave a Reply

