2, 4, 6, 8, WHAT do you appreciate?

I have been through some pretty tough events over the last few months. I lost a few loved ones, well, 5. Not exactly fun.

As you can imagine, losing several loved ones in a short time can really take a toll on you, so I was in a bit of a funk.

Mood Ring

It’s easy to feel as if there’s not much good going on at times like that and so I felt needed an attitude adjustment. Since the beach has always been my solace I decided to grab a notepad and go out onto a jetty where I proceeded to write down everything that I’m grateful for.

I focused on all of the good things I had in my life including the wonderful people that touched me but were now gone. I thought about the awesome memories we shared and I appreciated them even more now. It made me realize that I wouldn’t feel such sorrow if I didn’t first experience the joy in knowing each of them. It gave me a sense of peace.

It’s a Kind of Magic

While I was writing my list I noticed that it was becoming much longer than I expected and also that I began to smile. I felt extremely blessed that I had all of these things to be thankful for. My health, my family, friends, music, the ocean that I enjoy and so on. It was healing.

Why hadn’t I done this before?

It didn’t change the fact that I suffered such loss, but it changed my focus, and I felt better. We often think or say that we appreciate the things we have, but do we ever take the time to embrace or acknowledge it all? Especially since it’s easy to start focusing on the negative. There are certain people in our lives as well as the news/media outlets that can lead you down that crooked highway quite easily. Pull off of that road and don’t let anything steal your joy. Be grateful for what you have.

“Gratitude is when memory is stored in the heart and not in the mind.”
~Lionel Hampton

Lather, Rinse, Repeat

When I realized how much better this made me feel, I started reading the list every day. It was like my morning coffee. It made me so much more appreciative of my life and of the fact that I was given another day in which to exist. And man, if you want to talk about a great jolt to start to the day, this was it! I usually start the day happy but now it’s like me on steroids! It’s a shot to the heart.

“When you are grateful fear disappears and abundance appears”
~Anthony Robbins

Can you see how this simple act can create happiness? You no longer focus on loss or lack but instead you realize how blessed you truly are. You have more than many, many others in this world, so breathe it in and smile ; )-

Gobble it up!

Since this is the week of Thanksgiving, why not take some time to write down everything that you can be thankful for? Whether it’s two things or two dozen, write them down, read them and reflect upon them. Forget the bad news, forget what you don’t have and focus on all things good. Read this each morning. Soak it up and let it embrace you. You are already blessed with abundance and this will open your eyes to it and allow you to develop an attitude of gratitude. Watch this video for more on that concept.

I’m appreciative of two things today:

  1. I’m grateful that you’re reading this, because you make it all worth it, so thanks!
  2. One of my best friends whom I’ve know for more than half my life had a terrible motorcycle accident last Sunday and he is miraculously recovering. He’s like a Brother to me so for this amazing turn of events, I am most grateful. Love you Brian!

Rob Liano
Rock Star Life Coach & Sales Trainer
www.rockstarsalestraining.com
1.855.832.ROCK (7625)

 © Rob Liano and Rock Star Success Coaching, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rob Liano and Rock Star Success Coaching with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Rob Liano

The Rock Star Success Coach & Sales Trainer, Rob Liano is a best selling author and a Certified Life Coach empowering others through Personal Development & Professional Achievement!
This entry was posted in Sales Training, Success Coaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2, 4, 6, 8, WHAT do you appreciate?

  1. Lynette says:

    You stated it perfectly: “I focused on all of the good things I had in my life including the wonderful people that touched me but were now gone. I thought about the awesome memories we shared and I appreciated them even more now. It made me realize that I wouldn’t feel such sorrow if I didn’t first experience the joy in knowing each of them. It gave me a sense of peace.”

    I lost my two best friends years ago. The first when she was just 21, the second when she was just 23. They came into my life for a reason – even if only for a short time. I would NOT be the person am I today if I had never known them. I am so thankful I had their friendships for the time I did, for they have both had more positive effects on my life than they could ever have imagined they would. That certainly gives me a sense of peace, and makes me smile big time! It also makes me cherish the relationships I have now even more, and to learn that life should not be taken for granted.

    With that said, I’m thankful for EVERYTHING that’s happened in my life life – the good, the bad and the in between. It’s all helped make me who I am now…and I’m thankful for ME!

  2. Sandy Skeens says:

    Thank you Rob! I need to remember each week to read your blogs. You are a blessing to my soul and have been from the very day we met. I love Anthony Robbins quote! Our Lord truly moves on our behalf when our attitude is gratitude. All through the scriptures you see the parallel of this in association with the opening of doors and God truly blessing us based on what Jesus said, “I have come that they might have life, and have in abundance.” “And let the words of our mouth and the meditation of our heart be acceptable in your sight Oh Lord.”

    Be blessed this Thanksgiving season! Let the high praises of God be on your lips, and let every place your foot travels, become life to all. And the earth is crying out and travailing in pain, awaiting the manifestation of the Sons and Daughters of God.

  3. Pingback: One Small Step, One Giant Success Tip | Rob Liano – The Rock Star Success Coach

Leave a Reply

